Event Recap

BHCC Welcomes Faculty and Staff at Convocation 2022

Wednesday, September 14, 2022

On September 1, 2022, Bunker Hill Community College (BHCC) faculty and staff convened virtually for the College’s annual Convocation celebration to commence the 2022-2023 academic year. BHCC President Pam Eddinger welcomed faculty and staff with a tone of great optimism for the coming year and the hope of introducing students to new discoveries. She also thanked the faculty and staff who worked hard this summer to help students enroll.

At the event, President Eddinger outlined how community partners and BHCC faculty, staff, and administrators will be engaged in the College’s  five-year Strategic Planning process. Along with the Strategic Plan, BHCC will also begin an Equity Strategic Plan under the Office for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion. 

Following the welcome remarks, President Eddinger introduced resident artist Larry Spotted Crow Mann, who recited an original land acknowledgment for BHCC. Professor and Chair of Environmental Science Kim Frashure, Ph.D., introduced the 2022-2023 Distinguished Artists and Scholars in Residence Deborah Spears Moorehead and Pamela Ellis, who will help expand on previous work and produce original scholarship on the importance of Indigenous people in the Commonwealth.

BHCC Administrators discussed major trends in their respective areas that will guide the academic year. James F. Canniff, Ed.D., Provost and Vice President, Academic and Student Affairs; John K. Pitcher, CFO and Vice President, Administration and Finance; Nahomi Carlisle, Esq., Associate Vice President and Chief Equity and Compliance Officer, Affirmative Action Officer, and Section 504/ADA Coordinator on BHCC’s upcoming Compelling Conversations series; Wissal Nouchrif, Ed.D., Forum Moderator and Associate Professor, Business Administration, on Participatory Governance and Policy Review; and an introduction to student leadership Justin Muñoz, President, Student Government Association. 

Alice Murillo, Ph.D., Associate Provost, Chelsea Campus, introduced keynote speaker Dr. Davis Jenkins, a senior research scholar at the Community College Research Center, Columbia University’s Teachers College. His presentation titled “How Can Community Colleges Produce More Equitable Outcomes (and Build Back Enrollment) Post-COVID? Lessons from Six Years of CCRC Research on Guided Pathways” explored his research involving over 100 colleges nationally on the implementation of pathways reforms and their impact on student outcomes and college performance.  

Following Dr. Jenkins presentation was a BHCC Ted-talk from the CCRC Summer Institute narrated by Jonathan Noel, LifeMap Academic Counselor and Pathways Coach and a panel discussion with BHCC CCRC Institute participants facilitated by Karen Norton, Executive Director of Integrated Marketing and Communications. Panelists included Wissal Nouchrif, Ed.D., Professor in Business Administration; Eugenia Ciocan, Ph.D., Professor in Engineering and Physical Sciences; Miguel Torres Zepeda, Ph.D., Associate Professor and Chair in Global Languages; Richard Yost, Pharm. D., Professor and Chair in Pharmacy Technician; and Jonathan Noel, LifeMap Academic Counselor and Pathways Coach.

Before the keynote address, new and appointed faculty and staff were introduced to the BHCC community.

New Faculty

Manal Abdelhady
Associate Professor, Medical Imaging Program 

Ramzy Asmar
Associate Professor - Baking and Pastry Arts, Hospitality Department 

Gordon Curry
Professor, Communication Department

Stefani Desrosiers
Assistant Professor, Hospitality Department

Marie Levey-Pabst
Assistant Professor, English Department 

Nicole Mudarrie
Assistant Professor, Nurse Education Department 

Youssef Sabouni
Assistant Professor, Business Administration Department

Vijaya Sundaram
Assistant Professor, English Department

Ida Weldon
Assistant Professor, Early Childhood Education Department

Sunnie Zechariah
Assistant Professor, Early Childhood Education Department

New Professional Staff

Fawzia Ahmed
Academic Counselor (HOPE Success Navigator), HOPE Initiative 

Maya FrostBrophy
Academic Counselor, HOPE Initiative 

Kadee Fusco
Learn and Earn Coordinator, Career Development & Internships

Jacob Jones
HOPE Access Navigator (Academic Counselor), HOPE Initiative

Maxime Mad-Toingue
Academic Counselor, International Center

Anthony Martin
Special Programs Coordinator (HOPE Success Coordinator), HOPE Initiative

Suman Mukherjee
STEM Coordinator, Science, Engineering & Math

Tyler Papciak
Special Programs Coordinator, Veterans Center 

Guimard Saint Germain
Academic Counselor, HOPE Initiative

Rachael Torella
Assistive Technology Accessibility Specialist, Disability Support Services 

New Administrators

John Brittingham
Associate Director, Teaching, Learning & Instructional Design 

Bobby George
Senior Director of Network Operations, Information Services Department 

Senia Marin
Digital Content Specialist, Integrated Marketing and Communications 

Abbey Stanford
Associate Registrar, Academic Records

Kandley Val
Associate Director, Admissions & Recruitment 

Rosa Varraso
Accounting Operations Manager, Business Office 

New Appointments Administrators

Alicia D'Oyley
Dean, Enrollment Management and LifeMap 

Sartreina Dottin
Interim Director of Student Counseling Center, Student Affairs 

Sercan Fenerci
Interim Director, Athletics and Wellness

Sze Chun Leung
Interim Comptroller, Business Office

Soo Park
Dean, Humanities & Learning Communities 

Rebecca Tumposky
Director, Learning Communities

New Appointments Classified Staff

Richard Cuevas
Maintainer III, Facilities Management 

Jose Portillo
Maintainer III, Facilities Management 


To view the Convocation celebration, including Dr. Jenkins’ presentation and the BHCC TedTalk, visit the Digication site