Event Recap

BHCC Welcomes Faculty and Staff at Convocation 2020

Thursday, September 24, 2020

On September 3, 2020, Bunker Hill Community College (BHCC) faculty and staff convened virtually for the College’s annual Convocation celebration to kick off the 2020-2021 academic year. BHCC President Pam Eddinger welcomed faculty and staff, thanking them for the commitment and dedication to student success as the College shifted to remote learning during the spring semester.

Following the welcome remarks, President Eddinger introduced Convocation 2020 Keynote Speaker Makeeba McCreary, Ed.D., Chief of Learning and Engagement, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. In her keynote, titled “The Leadership Rollercoaster, aka Remember Your North Star,” McCreary shared experiences from her personal and professional life that led her to her role developing inclusive policies and practice that provide access and encourage community participation at the MFA. “We have this moment to lead,” said McCreary, “to keep museum doors open in the right way and embrace our young people and citizens in a way they deserve.”

Following the keynote address, new and appointed faculty and staff were introduced to the BHCC community. Faculty and staff were then introduced to student leadership David Ernesto Kim Brady, Student Government Association President and Niki Nguyen, Student Trustee, before hearing major trends that will guide the academic year from BHCC Administrators.

President Eddinger spoke to the community on the College’s Equity Agenda and Strategic Plan Review; Wissal Nouchrif, Ed.D., Forum Moderator and Associate Professor, Business Administration, on Participatory Governance and Policy Review; James F. Canniff, Ed.D., Provost and Vice President, Academic and Student Affairs, on Academic and Student Affairs; and John K. Pitcher, CFO and Vice President, Administration and Finance, and Jeff Ginsberg, Associate Vice President, Administration and Finance, on Administration and Finance.

New Faculty

Naoko Akai-Dennis, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, English Department

Leigh Bennett

Assistant Professor, English Department

Karissa Burnham

Assistant Professor, Nurse Education Department

Dawn Monahan

Professor, Nurse Education Department


New and Appointed Professional Staff

Mirna Abarca

Academic Coordinator, Biology and Chemistry Department

Patricia Bresnahan, Ph.D.

ESOL Instructor (Special Programs Coordinator), Workforce and Economic Development

Eric Cabral

Coordinator of Internship Programs, Career Development & Internships

Naomie Cazeau

Early College & High School Partnerships Coordinator (Senior Special Programs Coordinator), Academic Support and College Pathways Programs

Sara Connelly

Coordinator, Instructional Technology (Simulation Lab Specialist), Health Sciences Division

Michael Costello

Senior Special Programs Coordinator, Student Central

Raiza Felicitas

Senior Academic Counselor, Prevention and Wellness Education, Student Affairs

Matthew Gingras

Employer Partnerships Coordinator, Career Development and Internships

Jennifer Nguyen

Special Programs Coordinator, Student Central

Joseph Rihn

ESOL Instructor (Special Programs Coordinator), Workforce and Economic Development

Allison Rowell

Special Programs Coordinator, Academic Records

Nima Sadki-Carvajal

Early College Program Manager, Academic Support and College Pathways Programs

Carolina Sareyed-Dim

Special Programs Coordinator, ECE Pathway Grant

Jane Shou

Academic Counselor, Student Financial Services

New and Appointed Administrators

Amy Boudreau

Interim Assistant Director, Institutional Research

John Chirichiello

Interim Facilities Manager, Facilities

Franci Da Luz

Interim Associate Director, Admissions and Recruitment

Sercan Fenerci

Interim Director of Student Services, Student Services; Assistant Director of Athletics, Athletics

and Wellness

Austin Gilliland

Dean, Professional Studies

George Glaze

Director, Student Central

Carlnita Greene, Ph.D.

Assistant Dean, Humanities and Learning Communities

Loreto Jackson, Ph.D.

Interim Assistant Dean, Professional Studies; Director of Athletics, Athletics and Wellness

Justice Kumahia

Assistant Dean, Behavioral, Social Sciences and Global Learning

Oscar Lanza-Galindo

Associate Dean, Library and Learning Commons

JoDe Lavine, Ph.D.

Interim Assistant Dean, Science, Engineering and Mathematics

Carl Marcelin

Assistant Director for Talent Management, Human Resources

Leslie Ouellette

Associate Director, Integrated Marketing and Communications

Marilyn Roth

Interim Director, Institutional Research

Miguel Sahagun

Registrar, Academic Records

Lee Santos Silva

Interim Director, Center for Equity and Cultural Wealth

Danielle Tabela

Director, Testing Services and Assessment, Advising, LifeMap and Assessment

Denise Turner

Manager, Cultural Planning, College Events and Cultural Planning

Arlene Vallie

Interim Dean, Academic Affairs (Research and Assessment)

New and Appointed Classified Staff

Deej Bhulasar

Clerk VI, Admissions and Assessment

Rebecca Gallant

Communications Dispatcher II, Public Safety

Kimberly Interiano

Laboratory Technician I, Biology & Chemistry Department

Nikisha Joshi

Accountant II, Grants Department

Quyen Luong

Accountant V, Grants Department

Jeniffer Ticas

Administrative Assistant II, Academic and Student Affairs

Convocation Video